Below are the progressive grades within our Krav Maga system.

Practitioner Levels:


Practitioner levels are characterised as the ‘beginner’ levels in Krav Maga. One learns the fundamental techniques in the system from which they can progress further to advanced levels. There are five practitioner levels as indicated by the yellow patches above.

The following techniques are learnt:

- Vital and vulnerable targets
- Stances
- Movement
- Basic upper body and lower body attacks
- Basic upper body and lower body defences
- Basic ground defence
- Inside/Outside defences
- Defences against chokes, headlocks, bearhugs, wrist grabs
- Defences against impact weapons
- Defences against knife threats/attacks

Graduate Levels:


Graduate levels are the beginnings of a more thorough understanding of the concepts in the techniques of the Krav Maga system. These levels build on the practitioner level techniques by incorporating fighting skills and more advanced techniques are covered in depth such as:

- Advanced attacks
- Advanced hand and leg defences
- Takedowns
- Advanced defences against ground attacks
- Advanced defences against knives/impact weapons/guns
- Defences against multiple attackers

Each level takes approximately five to six months of training to reach the required level of competence to successfully pass each grade. Typically many instructors hold a G level grade and are civilian instructors.

There are five graduate levels as indicated by the blue patches above.


Expert Levels:


Expert levels are characterised by a deep understanding of the concepts in Krav Maga and the techniques involved.

Each expert level requires at least a year of training and attendance in extra specialised courses to advance further. Expert grades cover more advanced military and third party protection techniques as well as advanced sparring and fighting skills. Those who hold these ranks tend to instruct in other sectors such as military and law enforcement in addition to civilian. In order to progress to these levels one has to demonstrate proficiency in all of the Practitioner and Graduate syllabi and have excellent fighting skills.


Master Levels:

These ranks are held only by a small number of individuals and reserved only for those who have dedicated a lifetime to Krav Maga and made valuable contributions in teaching and promoting the style.